AP All-SEC: No. 1 Alabama leads the way for top awards

COLUMBIA, S. C. (AP) - # 1 Alabama is back at the top of the Southeastern Conference.
The SEC champions dominated any SEC honors voted on by a group of members of The Associated Press.
Nick Saban was named League Coach of the Year, recipient DeVonta Smith was named SEC Offensive Player of the Year and cornerback Patrick Surtain II was named Defensive Player of the Year.
The only individual award that the veteran Crimson Tide didn't receive was Newcomer of the Year, which went to Auburn's newcomer Tank Bigsby.
Alabama led the SEC with nearly 50 points per game, so it's no surprise that five Crimson Tide players have been called on to the first-team offense. Quarterback Mac Jones, his top target at Smith and SEC leader Najee Harris, was selected to join the team along with center Landon Dickerson and Alex Leatherwood.
Surtain, the talented junior and defender Christian Barmore were on the first defensive team.
Florida's Kyle Pitts was the close end of the team and his teammate, recipient Kardius Toney, was named an all-purpose player.
Kevin Harris, a 1000 yard rusher from South Carolina, joined Najee Harris in the backfield.
Kentucky's Darian Kinnard, Tennessee's Trey Smith and Georgia's Ben Cleveland filled the first-team offensive line.
Anders Carlson from Auburn was chosen as the first team kicker.
In defense, Dayo Odeyingbo from Vanderbilt, Bobby Brown III from Texas A&M and Trajan Jeffcoat from Missouri stood on the line.
The linebackers were Nick Bolton from Missouri, Grant Morgan from Arkansas and Monty Rice from Georgia.
The Bulldogs had Erik Stokes as cornerback and Richard LeCounte as security. Jalen Catalon from Arkansas was the last member of secondary school.
Jake Camarda of Georgia was named a first team punter.
Gator's quarterback Kyle Trask, who led the country by 4,125 yards and 43 touchdowns, led the second team's offensive.
--- ---.
The 2020 AP All-SEC team selected by a group of 18 sports writers and sports promoters who regularly cover the league with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown. ('' u- '' means unanimous selection):
QB - Mac Jones, Alabama, 6-3, 214, RJr., Jacksonville, Florida.
RB - u-Najee Harris, Alabama, 6-2, 230, Sr., Antioch, California.
RB - Kevin Harris, South Carolina, 5-10, 225, Sun., Hinesville, Georgia.
T-u-Alex Leatherwood, Alabama, 6-6, 312, Sr., Pensacola, Florida.
T - Darian Kinnard, Kentucky, 6-5, 345, Jr., Knoxville, Tennessee.
C - Landon Dickerson, Alabama, 6-6, 325, RSr., Hickory, North Carolina.
G - Trey Smith, Tennessee, 6-6, 330, Sr., Jackson, Tennessee.
G - Ben Cleveland, Georgia, 6-6, 335, Sr., Taccoa, Georgia.
TE - u Kyle Pitts, Florida, 6-4, 225, Jr., Philadelphia.
WR-u-DeVonta Smith, Alabama, 6-1, 175, Sr., Amite, Louisiana.
WR - Elijah Moore, Mississippi, 5-9, 184, Jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
General Purpose - Kadarius Toney, 5-11, 194, Sr., Mobile, Alabama.
K - Anders Carlsen, Auburn, 6-5, 215, Jr., Colorado Springs, Colorado.
EN - Dayo Odeyingbo, Vanderbilt, 6-6, 276, Sr., Irving, Texas.
DE - Trajan Jeffcoat, Missouri, 6-3, 265, RSo., Irmo, South Carolina.
DT - Christian Barmore, Alabama, 6-5, 310, RSo., Philadelphia.
DT - Bobby Brown III, Texas A&M, 6-4, 325, Jr., Arlington, Texas.
LB - Nick Bolton, Missouri, 6-2, 232, Jr., Frisco, Texas.
LB - Grant Morgan, Arkansas, 5-11, 222, RSr., Greenwood, Arkansas.
LB - Monty Rice, Georgia, 6-1, 235, Sr., Huntsville, Alabama.
CB - Patrick Surtain II, Alabama, 6-2, 202, Jr., Plantation, Florida.
CB - Erik Stokes, Georgia, 6-1, 185, Jr., Covington, Georgia.
S - Richard LeCounte, Georgia, 5-11, 190, Sr., Riceboro, Georgia.
S - Jalen Catalon, Arkansas, 5-10, 189, RFr., Mansfield, Texas.
P - Jake Camarda, Georgia, 6-2, 180, Jr., Norcross, Georgia.
QB - Kyle Trask, Florida, 6-5, 240, Sr., Manvel, Texas.
RB - Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M, 6-1, 225, So., Spring, Texas.
RB - Tank Bigsby, Auburn, 6-0, 204, Fr., LaGrange, Georgia.
T - Landon Young, Kentucky, 6-7, 321, Sr., Lexington, Kentucky.
T - Carson Green, Texas A&M, 6-6, 320, Sr., Southlake, Texas.
G - Kenyon Green, Texas A&M, 6-4, 325, So., Humble, Texas.
G - Deonte Brown, Alabama, 6-4, 350, RSr., Decatur, Alabama.
C - Drake Jackson, Kentucky, 6-2, 292, Sr., Versailles, Kentucky.
TE - Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M, 6-5, 265, So., Dickinson, Texas.
WR - Treylon Burks, Arkansas, 6-3, 232, Sun., Warren, Arkansas.
WR - Kadarius Toney, Florida, 5-11, 194, Sr., Mobile, Alabama.
General Purpose - Jerrion Ealy, Mississippi, 5-8, 190, Sun., Walnut Grove, Mississippi.
K - Cade York, LSU, 6-1, 198, So., McKinney, Texas.
DE - Ali Gaye, LSU, 6-6, 262, Jr., Lynnwood, Washington.
DE - Brenton Cox Jr., Florida, 6-4, 249, Jr., Lithonia, Georgia.
DT - Kingsley Enagbare, South Carolina, 6-4, 270, Jr., Atlanta.
DT - Jonathan Marshall, Arkansas, 6-3, 317, RSr., Shepherd, Texas.
LB - Azeez Ojulari, Georgia, 6-3, 240, RSo., Marietta, Georgia.
LB - Willie Anderson Jr., Alabama, 6-4, 235, Fr., Hampton, Georgia.
LB - Henry To'o To'o, Tennessee, 6-2, 225, So., Sacramento, California.
CB - Kaiir Elam, Florida, 6-2, 194, Sun., Riviera Beach, Florida.
CB - Eli Ricks, LSU, 6-2, 196, Fr., Rancho Cucamonga, California.
S - Smoke Munday, Auburn, 6-2, 196, Jr., Atlanta.
S - Malachi Moore, Alabama, 6-0, 182, Fr., Trussville, Alabama.
P - Max Duffy, Kentucky, 6-1, 190, Sr., Perth, Australia.
--- ---.
Coach of the Year - Nick Saban, Alabama.
Attacking Player of the Year - DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama.
Defensive Player of the Year - Patrick Surtain II, CB, Alabama.
Newcomer of the Year - Tank Bigsby, RB, Auburn.
--- ---.
AP All-SEC voting body: Parrish Alford, Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal; Madison Blevins, WBIR-TV, Knoxville, Tenn .; Eric Blum, Columbia Daily Tribune; Robert Cessna, Bryan College Station Eagle; John Clay, Lexington Herald Leader; David Cloninger, Charleston Post and Courier; David Foster, WZTV-TV, Nashville, Tennessee; Tyler Horka, the Clarion ledger; Cecil Hurt, The Tuscaloosa News; Brooks Kubena, the lawyer; Baton Rouge, Louisiana; David Matter, St. Louis Mail Dispatch; Tom Murphy, The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette; Alyssa Orange, KNWA-TV, Northwest Arkansas; Nick Suss, The Clarion Ledger; Edgar Thompson, the Orlando Sentinel; Blake Toppmeyer, Knoxville News Sentinel; Mike Uva, WACH-TV, Columbia, South Carolina; Marc Weiszer, Athens Banner Herald.
------ ------.
More AP College Football: https://apnews.com/Collegefootball and https://twitter.com/AP-Top25
In this article
DeVonta Smith
Najee Harris
Georgia Bulldogs
Alabama Crimson Tide

You should check here to buy the best price guaranteed products.

Last News

Fight Highlights: Adrian Garcia vs. Luis "Pinga" Bojorquez

Trump allies Lin Wood and Marjorie Taylor Greene exchange right-wing insults in a public feud

Fight Highlights: Luis "El Tigre" Gomez vs. Michael "The Animal" Garcia

Jeffrey Epstein believed he could make a deal with prosecutors by revealing the secrets of Donald Trump or Bill Clinton, a new book says

Australian police chase tractor used in daring bike shop ram raid

Dozens of scientists who speak publicly about COVID-19 say they've been abused, with some receiving death threats and getting physically attacked, survey says