FIFA awards: Players, coaches nominated

The FIFA Awards Ceremony will take place on December 17th and nominations for the best players and coaches have been announced.
[MORE: How to See PL in the US]
Premier League stars dominate the lists with Kevin de Bruyne, Sadio Mane, Thiago Alcantara, Mohamed Salah and Virgil van Dijk on the 11-man shortlist. Neymar, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are also included. Joshua Kimmich seems to be a blatant omission when his Bayern Munich team mate Robert Lewandowski makes the cut.
There are no USWNT players in the women's awards, with Chelsea players Pernille Harder, Ji So-yun and Sam Kerr dominating. Lucy Bronze from Man City is one of the favorites, while Arsenal star Vivianne Miedema is nominated as five of the eleven nominees in the Women's Super League in England. USWNT goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher is one of the nominees for the best female goalkeeper in the world.
In terms of coaching awards, five have been nominated for top coaches in both men's and women's games, and Leeds United's nomination for Marcelo Bielsa has caused quite a stir. Leeds was eventually promoted back to the Premier League under Bielsa. Does that mean he's one of the top five coaches in the world? Jürgen Klopp, Hansi Flick, Julen Lopetegui and Zinedine Zidane were the other nominees.
Public voting will take place on, as votes have until December 9th.
Below is a list of the nominees for the FIFA Men's and Women's Awards, Goalkeepers and Coach of the Year.
The best female FIFA player:
Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / WFC Manchester City)
Delphine Cascarino (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / FC Barcelona)
Pernille Harder (Denmark / VfL Wolfsburg / Chelsea FC Women)
Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea FC Women)
Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)
Saki Kumagai (Japan / Olympique Lyonnais)
Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany / Olympique Lyonnais)
Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)
Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
The best FIFA men's player:
Thiago Alcantara (Spain / Bayern Munich / Liverpool FC)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus FC)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern Munich)
Sadio Mane (Senegal / Liverpool FC)
Kylian Mbappe (France / Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)
Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid CF)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC)
Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands / Liverpool FC)
FIFA Women's Best Goalkeeper:
Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)
Sarah Bouhaddi (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain)
Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / VfL Wolfsburg / Atletico de Madrid Femenino)
Alyssa Naeher (Red Stars USA / Chicago)
Ellie Roebuck (England / Manchester City WFC)
FIFA Men's Best Goalkeeper:
Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool FC)
Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid CF)
Keylor Navas (Costa Rica / Paris Saint-Germain)
Manuel Neuer (Germany / FC Bayern Munich)
Jan Oblak (Slovenia / Atlético de Madrid)
Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany / FC Barcelona)
The best FIFA women's coach:
Lluis Cortes (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Rita Guarino (Italy / Juventus Women)
Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)
Stephan Lerch (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)
Hege Riise (Norway / LSK Kvinner)
Jean-Luc Vasseur (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team)
The best FIFA men's coach:
Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina / Leeds United FC)
Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany / FC Bayern Munich)
Jürgen Klopp (Germany / Liverpool FC)
Julen Lopetegui (Spain / Sevilla FC)
Zinedine Zidane (France / Real Madrid CF)
Follow @JPW_NBCSports
FIFA Awards: Players and Nominee Coaches originally appeared on

Last News

New Radicals Reunite To Sing 'You Get What You Give' For Biden Inauguration 'Parade'

Eisenhower lassoed during 1953 inauguration

Eisenhower lassoed during 1953 inauguration

Melania Gets Epic Late Show Sendoff: Watch Laura Benanti Channel Her Inner Beauty Upon First Lady's Return to NYC

Mandžukić returns to Italy, signs for league leader AC Milan

Jamie McMurray returns for Daytona 500 effort in Spire's No. 77